Faculty Of Law

Faculty Of Law

An Introduction to the Faculty of Law, Tribhuvan University


Tribhuvan University (T.U.) was established in 1959 AD. The Faculty of Law is one of the oldest faculties of T.U. which was established in 1959 AD as an Institute of Law. However, the Law College was established in 1954 AD with offering LL.B courses with an affiliation to Patna University of India. In 1972, the Institute of Law prepared a 2 years comprehensive curriculum for Certificate Level (CL) and 3 years curriculum for Diploma in Law (D.L.). After establishment of T.U., the Law College came under the T.U. The Institute of Law was renamed as the Faculty of Law in 1974 AD.


The Faculty of Law, T.U. has following basic objective:

  • to produce human resource equipped with necessary skill, competency and integrity
  • to impart sense of responsibility towards society, nation and the world;
  • to develop a base of legal excellence with international and indigenous understanding;
  • to promote research and understand insights of law and society;
  • to prepare competent human resource in the field of law and justice.

Our Programs

Ph.D (Doctor of Philosophy)

This programme started in 1999 A.D. at this Faculty. There are nine universities in the country but no other universities except this Faculty offer Ph.D programme in law. Till to…...

LL.M (Master of Laws) – 3 Years Programme / 6 Semesters Programme

This is one of the special programmes offered by the Faculty of Law, T.U. This programme is offered at Nepal Law Campus only since 2012 A.D. The person who desires…...

LL.B (Bachelor of Laws)

LL.B is a three years programme for having bachelor’s degree in any discipline. This programme is offered in all six constituent campuses and one affiliated campus named Hari Khetan College.…...

LL.M(Master of Laws)– 2 Years Programme / 4 Semesters Programme

The person who has Bachelor’s Degree in law is qualified to get admission in this programme through passing entrance exam. The Total number of seats for Nepal Law Campus is…...

B.A.LL.B (Bachelor of Arts Bachelor of Laws)

Ten plus two graduates are qualified for admission in this programme after passing entrance exam. The total 280 students get admission each year. Only two constituent campuses--Nepal Law Campus located…...

View All